Product review: The Chillow

Welcome to my second product review. Every few weeks I will be testing and reviewing a sleep-related product. This time it is the Chillow – a cooling device.


Phew, it’s so hot, isn’t it? My timing couldn’t be better for testing the Chillow, even if I do say so myself.

I was excited about trying out the Chillow, and not just because of the hot spell we’re currently experiencing in the UK. I’d heard lots of great reviews about the Chillow, and wanted to see for myself if it lived up to the hype.

For those of you who haven’t seen or heard about the Chillow, it’s a rectangular blue pad, the same size as a standard pillow but only a couple of centimetres deep. It’s made from non-toxic, hypoallergenic material, which absorbs heat from your body and releases it back into the surrounding air. I was told that this produces a constant cooling effect and I couldn’t wait to give it a go.

First though, I had to activate my Chillow. This is a simple four-step process:

  1. Fill the Chillow with 1.9 litres (or 3 ¼ pints) of warm tap water – this only needs to be done once to activate the foam core, although additional water may need to be added if evaporation occurs over time;
  2. Leave the Chillow on a flat surface to rest for four hours;
  3. Create a vacuum seal by: carefully rolling the Chillow to create an airpocket bubble, uncapping the valve and releasing the air trapped inside. Note that some water will escape during this step, so my advice would be to do this in a sink or bath.
  4. Leave the Chillow on a flat surface to cool before use.

Your Chillow, which should look a bit wrinkly, is now ready to use time and time again. Easy peasy! I’m amazed that there’s no need for power or refrigeration, although the Chillow can be refrigerated for 15 – 30 minutes if you want a super cool Chillow (but I’ve been warned not to freeze it as this can ruin your Chillow).

The Chillow can be used on any part of the body, but it’s commonly used by placing it on top of your existing pillow – either inside or outside of the pillowcase. Throughout the last week, I’ve tested my Chillow as follows:

  • On top of my pillow, both inside and outside my pillowcase – Anyone who flips their pillow for the cooler side will love sleeping on the Chillow. A few seconds after placing my head on my Chillow-topped pillow, I felt a pleasantly cooling sensation around my head and neck. As for the inside / outside pillowcase option, whilst laying my head directly on the Chillow provided greater coolness, I preferred the softness of my pillowcase over the plasticy material of the Chillow against my face;
  • Under my feet – As someone who suffers from temperature-sensitive feet (freezing cold in the winter and tingly hot in the summer), the Chillow provided instant relief to my toasty tootsies;
  • On my hands, back and midriff – For soothing coolness on the hottest of nights.

I was very impressed with the Chillow’s cooling effect: in fact, I found the Chillow to be so effective, that I only needed to use it for a few minutes when I first went to bed before I felt comfortable enough to sleep. Then I would keep it at hand – underneath my pillow is a good spot  – in case I needed to cool down in the night; I could easily flip away my pillow or simply reach my hands under my pillow whenever I needed a cool fix. (I did notice that the foam core twisted a little after a night under my pillow, but it was easily smoothed out the next day).

My Chillow also gave me huge relief when I unlucky enough to fall ill this week. It soothed my hot flushes, easing me to sleep.

My verdict? The Chillow is a simple, effective cooling aid, perfect for quickly cooling you down on those hot, sticky, summer nights – without the irritating hum of a fan! So, don’t sweat it people, chill out with a Chillow!

The Chillow is available from We Love Sleep.

Comments

  1. Brilliant review. Sounds perfect for those hot nights people suffer with for various reasons. Many thanks!

  2. mr sushi says:

    It might work but i’m not sure luminous blue fits in with my bedroom colour scheme!!!

  3. I have Fallowed the instructions to the tee the first order had two chillows one for my and one for my husband i also got the pillow cases we let them set for 4 hours, pushed all the air out so there was only water and put them in the refrigerator for 20min. went to bed with the light blue side up and woke up to are 3000.00 be soaked in water. SO we thought maybe we did it wrong so we repeated the steps this time I used it on my low back dark blue side up i was sitting in my recliner and it worked for a hour then i felt my paints get wet it had leaked from the cap so i tried the 2nd of the two chillow’s and after a hour it started leaking the same as the first one. So i called customer services and the lady didn’t even seem to care about what i was telling her happend she just told me she was sending me new Chillows. Well all the stuffed that happened with the first 2 happend when i tried to use the new 2 you sent to replace my first order. So I asked My friend to try it she fallowed the instructions put i under her neck fell a sleep and woke to a wet pillow. I think the cap gets warm as you use it and lets the water to leak out.I fell it would be wonderful if it had a screw on cap. I am vary upset I have to have my bed dried and cant sleep in it because its still wet so we have to use an air mattress till it drys

  4. My sister bought the Chillow for me for my birthday. I suffer from those annoying hot flashes and sleep deprevation because of. Any way I’ve been using the Chillow for the last two nights and though it’s amazing and works great, the coolness doesn’t seem to last but a couple of hours. Great concept though just wished it would last all night.

  5. Bob Roberts says:

    I bought 20 of these and covered my mattress, now I sleep so much better, it reminds me of going to Alaska and sleeping on the floor of an igloo, with my huskie “Roger”.

  6. bernard . J says:

    The chillow pillow is not as advertised leaked onto my pillow and bed which had to dry out for two days. Very unhappy with this product!!

  7. I am having trouble with the plug slowly leaking. Anyone else have this problem?

  8. patty majors says:

    I’ve seen other reviews where it mildewed on the inside – did you see that problem? They also said it was very heavy and ungainly to turn over…

  9. I mustt5 be doing something wrong because mine doesn’t work.

  10. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly
    enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing
    to your feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Product review: The Chillow…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. [...] Having tested and reviewed the Chillow, I can happily confirm its effectiveness as a soothing, cooling sleep aid on those hot, sticky, summer nights – read my full review here. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

